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October 2, 2006 

 
MEDIA ALERT 

 
Commerce cites Michigan Company for violating Consumer Sales Act   
“Mandatory Poster Agency tried to pressure grocers with fake Utah law” 
(For immediate release…) 
SALT LAKE CITY, Utah – Francine Giani, Executive Director of the Utah 
Department of Commerce, announced today that the Division of Consumer 
Protection has issued an Administrative Citation against Mandatory Poster Agency 
Inc. aka “Utah Food Service Compliance Center” for allegedly pressuring Utah 
grocery stores into purchasing products under false claims they were part of a state 
and federal food safety program.  Mandatory Poster Agency faces $25,000 in fines for 
deceptive acts and practices in connection with a consumer transaction under the 
Utah Consumer Sales Practices Act. 
 
“Mandatory Poster Agency created a web of lies to make Utah grocery stores think 
their hand-washing safety posters were required by the State of Utah,” said Francine 
Giani, “Turns out they have been trying this scam in other states so we want to make 
Utah businesses aware of this fraud.” 
 
According to the investigation, Mandatory Poster Agency rented a post office box in 
Utah and sent letters to ten members of the Utah Food Industry Association claiming 
they were representatives of the “Utah Food Service Compliance Center”.  Their 
letter outlined recent changes to new hand washing requirements in state and federal 
code, even though no such code exists in Utah.  The letter directed businesses to 
purchase posters from Mandatory Poster Agency in order to comply with what the 
letter falsely alleged to be new law.  The letter claimed if stores did not comply they 
could face a fine of $2,500.00, lose their business license and possibly face civil 
liability actions.  The Division of Consumer Protection concluded the letters sent by 
Mandatory Poster Agency were a scare tactic as members of the Utah Food Industry 
Association had worked closely with the Utah Department of Agriculture and Food 
along with the Utah Health Department in adopting food code regulations.   
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